IPL Retention: A total of 18 Players Retained, Virat Kohli is the Costliest Among them


Today all the eight teams including Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan (which were banned from the IPL for previous two seasons) announced names of the retained players. Earlier BCCI provides the directive for the retention of the player.

What is the rule for retention?
Total five players can be retained by each team. In these total five, three should be Indians and two must be the foreigner. Today they can announce the only name of three players in any combination of Indians and foreigners. Remaining two players keep into the list of ‘Right to Match’ (RTM) means the previously owned team of that particular players can retain that player in the maximum price of the player in IPL auction offered by other franchise if the owner is interested to keep that player in the team.
List of the retained players:

  1. Delhi Daredevils
  2. Kings XI Punjab
  3. Kolkata Knight Riders
  4. Sun Risers Hyderabad     
  5. Chennai Super Kings
  6. Rajasthan Royals
  7. Mumbai Indians
  8. Royal Challengers Bangalore